13 Reasons Why Review: Should You Watch It?

This review is spoiler-free.

This was a tough one to watch, I’m not going to lie. I read the book a few years ago in middle school and thought it was amazingly well-written. I loved how utterly raw and emotional it was. The series was the same, and didn’t shy away from anything.

I had very mixed feelings about this series. On the one hand, I loved how it got so realistic for teens and problems and brought much-needed awareness to problems like abuse, rape, and suicide. On the other hand, I found some of Hannah’s reasons a little stretched and she got really annoying sometimes. I should’ve been feeling bad for her, but up until the last couple tapes, she just really got on my nerves.

And before people attack me for saying that the suicidal character is annoying, hear me out. Hannah was super self-involved and over dramatic. A lot of teenagers are, but her traits seemed to be exaggerated. I think that since they make everything 100 times more dramatic on TV, that was definitely a factor in it. I couldn’t relate to her and I didn’t have much sympathy towards her until the later tapes since she would blow things so far out of proportion and acted like she was the only one ever to have some of these problems like backstabbing friends and rumors spread about her.

I felt as though she also didn’t reach out to those close to her and pushed them away instead. Yet, she still expected them to save her. I get that it’s hard for some to talk about their problems and be honest about the root of the problems, especially with parents. I know that she didn’t want to be a burden to her parents, but her parents loved her more than life itself. She seemed close to them before all the shit starting happening to her. They definitely would’ve helped her and set aside their problems because that’s what loved ones do.

But she expected all of these high school students and teachers to read her mind when her parents didn’t have the faintest idea of what was going on? That’s what’s not realistic to me. If it proved anything, it’s that you can only rely on yourself to pick you up by your bootstraps, brush you off, and get yourself together. Sometimes we have to be our own knight in shining armor instead of relying on everyone else in your life. Hannah was really helpless sometimes and that drives me crazy (as you can probably tell). I do understand that some people are just like that and don’t know how to handle things properly.

She obviously didn’t deserve the shit that happened to her and I’m not defending those who did it to her (especially tape 12, they can rot in hell). It’s horrible that she got to that point where she wanted to end her life.  I would never know what that feels like, but I know that I would never want to feel that way or wish that anyone felt that way. I’m not saying that I had absolutely no sympathy for her, either. Some of her reasons were really upsetting and disturbing and no one should ever have to go through that.

On another note, the series differed from the book in the way that Clay took his sweet time to listen to the tapes. The whole time I was watching I was like, boy, get your little ass in gear, put on the totally-subtle-Beats-headphones-product-placement, and listen to the damn tapes! Book Clay listened to them all in one night!! Get with the damn program!!!

As far as I can remember (it’s been a while), Hannah’s reasons were like the book, except for the order and small details. I LOVE it when screen adaptations stay as close to the book as possible, but not to the point where it doesn’t translate onto TV. But Clay didn’t act out like he did in the series, but I think it made his character more interesting. He did, however, take it too far which made me uncomfortable and the portrayal kind of cringey. It did get a little draggy, since it seemed Clay only listened to one tape per day (which didn’t even take up the whole episode). I do like that they added background about the other characters which added complexity to the show as a whole.

The acting was AMAZING. All of the actors and actresses should get a pat on the back for taking on these roles and portraying them so well. You could feel their emotions and they had a way of almost bringing you into the scene they were in. I felt like I was witnessing everything first-hand along with Clay and Hannah.

I liked how the story flowed with the flashbacks and present-day. It was very smooth and I’m a huge fan of shows that do that. You can tell easily between the two as well. There was even humor in there, which was nice comic relief from such a heavy subject. Other than the points I brought up earlier, it was well-written and hit the nail on the head with some real types of problems in high school. It was actually kind of scary how well they portrayed the environment and tone of high school.

This show has brought some much needed awareness to teen suicide and I hope we, as a society, can now do more to prevent it from happening. It also shows you that your words and actions can definitely have a lasting effect on people, no matter how big or small your actions may be.

Final Thoughts: Should you watch it?

YES! I recommend it highly. Although Hannah got on my nerves and it was a little drawn out, it wasn’t enough to keep me from finishing it. I’m a sucker for heavy dramas and this one definitely takes the cake in that category. However, I feel as though this isn’t as much as a show for your enjoyment or that you should particularly like, but it’s so good and brings awareness to issues with a lot of negative stigma. The messages are very real, even though some of situations may be slightly questionable. Suicide is no joke, and neither is rape, domestic violence, drug/alcohol abuse, drunk driving, bullying, and assault. They don’t take any of these topics lightly.

However, if any of this topics are triggering to you, you may want to steer clear of it. There are scenes depicting suicide, accidents, and rape that are very graphic, and only some episodes have warnings. Episodes 9 – 13 have these scenes, so please use your best judgement.

If you ever find yourself in the same place as Hannah Baker, talk to someone you love/care about. Suicide is not the answer; it’s a guarantee that the things in your life will never get better. People do care about you and will be heartbroken over your death. You have to be around to finally see that light at the end of the tunnel. The National Suicide Prevention Hotline is 1-800-273-8255 where you can call a trained professional to anonymously listen to your thoughts and feelings and provide resources to help you for free, 24/7.

Thanks for reading, I love all of you.

xx, Hannah

10 thoughts on “13 Reasons Why Review: Should You Watch It?

  1. Loved your post. I’ve finished the show today and I completely agree with you. In the first few episodes I didn’t seem to understand what reasons she had to kill herself. They didn’t seem strong enough for that kind of reaction, just some high school drama. She was even kind of popular. I couldn’t relate to her at all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally agree, Cheila! It was a strong reaction to me too. I think everyone’s had their fair share of high school drama and that didn’t make it believable to me to start. As a teen girl, I felt as though I should be relating to her but I wasn’t at all really. Thank you for taking time to read this and for the lovely compliment and insight! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve just started watching these and I think I got to the 5th episode already. Usually when I watch any series I get the whole season for a day or two, but it was different with this one. I didn’t feel engaged with the story at all, and like you said, I found Hannah to be pretty annoying most of the times. I’ll watch it these days.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know! I pushed myself through until the later reasons because I just couldn’t remember what happened. If you’re bored but want to know her reasons, I have another post with all 13 all layed out. It gets better, but not by much. As I stated, the 9th episode and up gets very heavy, so use caution! I wouldn’t want anyone getting unnecessarily upset over a TV show. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great review, and honestly, I kind of agree with some of what you said about Hannah being a bit dramatic. Like, when everyone said it was Clay’s fault that the suicide happened to her because he wasn’t there for her, but I think that puts a lot of weight on one kid. One kid couldn’t have saved her, honestly, and she was pushing him away, and he didn’t know what to do. (This is getting ranty) But another thing, I don’t know if you’ve seen, but people are using 13 reasons why for promposals and it’s really getting on my nerves because they’re totally romanticizing a series meant to bring awareness to bullying/suicide rates but it’s used as a cute promposal…I don’t know. Rant over. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. EXACTLY! Thank you!!! He was confused and getting mixed signals and shouldn’t have been blamed for her decision. I have seen those promposals and I totally agree with you. That’s not something to joke about and take lightly. Thank you for reading ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

