Prom 2017: Hair, Makeup, Nails, Oh My!

Hello all! In case you didn’t know, my prom was last night. I thought I’d tell you about my getting ready process throughout the day along with what happened during the time I was there, because why not?

How I Originally Planned Everything to Go

Friday (Prom Eve/Cinco de Mayo):

  • Decide what makeup to use
  • Set out everything for the next day
  • Break in heels
  • Find lipstick (lol my room’s a mess)
  • Play around with eyeshadow
  • Text hairdresser cousin for tips on getting my arrow-straight hair to hold a curl

Saturday (Prom Day):

  • Go to Wal-Mart to get hairspray, mousse, and a birthday present (her party was after prom)
  • Take continuous care of the dogs I was dog-sitting (morning, afternoon, evening, night)
  • Head to nail appointment early
  • Eat lunch
  • Shower
  • Put mousse in hair + blow dry it
  • Moisturize body + face
  • Have my mom do my hair
  • Finalize makeup
  • Don’t forget about jewelry + perfume
  • Find a clutch to use
  • Get pictures at a pretty place

How Everything Actually Went

I ended up babysitting Friday night, so I didn’t have time to play around with eyeshadow, but I did do everything else. I just made sure my heels fit because I had forgotten to do that continuously since I bought my dress (whoops). Thank god they fit, otherwise I would’ve had to run to a shoe store at some point the next morning.

I woke up around 9:00 AM and headed straight to Wal-Mart in all my greasy-haired-second-day-eyeliner glory. I had to find the hair mousse and hairspray my cousin recommended, a birthday card and gift card for my friend, and possibly some other makeup I might need.

20170506_091346
All right, Mr. DeMille, I’m ready for my glow-up

After perusing the aisles for a bit, I bought the mousse, a pretty birthday card, and two cream crayon/stick eyeshadows. My mom (who I called in the middle of the store) suggested I head to the Rite Aid down the street since they might have the hairspray I was looking for (our Wal-Mart sucks). I headed to the adjacent Dunkin’ Donuts for an iced coconut cream pie coffee and strawberry frosted donut since I have no self control (it was right there, calling my name and I didn’t want to be rude).

At Rite Aid, I found the exact hairspray and a better selection of gift cards. I headed home after that. I let out the dogs I was dog-sitting and left for my nail appointment.

I saw a huge group of girls at the nail salon that I knew (of course). The salon had the EXACT color of my dress in a nail polish so I got acrylics and a pedicure. I would post the brands and colors, but they are super obscure and I cannot find them anywhere.

20170506_125737

At home, I ate lunch and let out the dogs again. I had easy mac because prom automatically constitutes a cheat day. Microwaving is also the limit of my culinary expertise.

I showered after that because I was starting to draw flies and started the 4-hour process of getting ready. One of my best friends came over so we could get ready together.

Hair

At the recommendation of my cousin, I put the mousse in my wet hair and blow dried it. My mom French braided and pinned two large sections of hair. Then she sprayed each section of the hair she was curling individually, curled it, then sprayed it again. It held for about 3 hours because my hair doesn’t like me when I try to do stuff with it.

Products: Aussie Headstrong Volume 3 Maximum Hold Mousse ($3.43); Bed Head Masterpiece Shine Hairspray ($23.00); some super old curling irons; hair ties and clips

20170507_143705

Makeup

I did my eyeshadow first, starting with primer then going in with the shadow crayons on my lids. I went in with “Thirteen” along my browbone, “Password” in my crease, “Smolder” on the outer corner, “Verve” in the inner third, “Pistol” on the mid lid, and “Black Market” as a liner. I had already put moisturizer on at this point, so I went right in with concealer and foundation. I used powder to set, then bronzer, highligher, and blush to add dimension. I topped it off with lipstick!

Eyes: Too Faced Shadow Insurance ($20.00); Maybelline New York EyeStudio ColorTattoo Concentrated Crayon in “Grey Crystal” and “Charcoal Chrome” ($5.94); Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette shadows “Password”, “Thirteen”, “Smolder”, and “Black Market” ($54.00); Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette shadows “Pistol” and “Verve” ($54.00); L’Oreal Paris Voluminous Carbon Black Mascara ($5.84)

Face: Aveeno Clear Complexion Daily Moisturizer ($14.87); Maybelline New York Cover Stick Corrector Concealer in “Green” ($4.94); L’Oreal Paris Visible Lift CC Eye Concealer in “Light” ($8.97Maybelline New York Dream Liquid Mousse Foundation in “Creamy Natural” ($7.94); Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in “Dim Light” ($46.00); Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Matte Bronzer in “Chocolate” ($30.00); BECCA Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed Highlighter in “Rose Quartz” (no longer available); Milani Powder Blush in “Tea Rose” ($6.97)

Lips: Lush Lip Scrub in “Santa Baby” (seasonal); e.l.f. Cosmetics Lip Exfoliator ($3.00); eos Visibly Soft Lip Balm Sphere in “Vanilla Mint” ($2.96); M.A.C. Cosmetics Lip Pencil in “Whirl” ($17.50); M.A.C. Cosmetics Lipstick in “Crème in Your Coffee” ($17.00)

20170507_100656
Eyeshadow close-up
20170506_165347
Full face close-up

Everything Else

Jewelry: Rings are from J.C. Penney and Francesca’s; bracelets are Alex and Ani Initial “H” Charm Bangle ($28.00), Alex and Ani New England Patriots Football Charm Bangle ($32.00), and a silver cuff that was a gift; my dangle earrings were featured in my Huge Spring Haul + Prom Dress Sneak Peak, they were bought at Bon Ton, and the rest of the earrings you could find just about anywhere

Dress: J.C. Penney

Shoes: The brand is Wild Rose and I got them at Famous Footwear in 2015, but they no longer carry the brand

20170507_151439

Scent: Soap & Glory Smoothie Star Body Milk Lotion ($12.00); Viktor & Rolf Flowerbomb Rollerball ($30.00) (I originally typed rollerbomb and I feel like they missed a marketing opportunity there)

Prom

My best friend’s boyfriend came to pick her up, and another friend of mine came for pictures. We got to early and met up with another friend of ours (the birthday present was for her) and her boyfriend. Our picture was featured in the local online newspaper! We waited with them until we could go in and sit at our table. Dinner was really good, as I had a Caesar salad, a dinner roll, fried rice, penne with alfredo sauce, and Swedish meatballs. I had Chocolate Thunder Cake for dessert which was delicious. They crowned the prom king and queen (who were both incredibly nice people) and started the dancing. The music they played could’ve been so much better, as most of it was hardcore rap and remixes. So. Much. Grinding. My friends and I got pictures in the photobooth, then bailed out around 9:30 PM. I went over to the birthday girl’s house afterwards and stayed there until around 12:30 AM. I came home and just about passed out in my bed.

2017050695172733
Allll byyyy myselffffff
2017050695173205
Toffee would not cooperate
20170506_172932
Me and the friend I got ready with

Overall, I liked dressing up and I’m glad I went, I just wish more of my close friends went, too. At least I can say that I went to my junior prom!

To see more pictures, friend me on Facebook and follow me on Instagram.

Did you go to your prom/similar dance? Was it fun? Let me know your stories in the comments!

xx, Hannah

21 thoughts on “Prom 2017: Hair, Makeup, Nails, Oh My!

  1. I loved this! Getting all dressed and dolled up us so much fun! You and your friend looked amazing 😄
    My hair is similarly always trying to undo all the styling I ever do to it. Whenever i try curling, even with all the hair spray in the world, it comes undone within an hour 😥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!!!
      Ugh, it’s the most annoying thing. My hair was out around 7 and it sometimes even slides out of braids. I don’t think anyone can ever be truly happy with their hair lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

