June Ipsy Glam Bag Review

20170701_224941

I finally jumped on the bandwagon and got an Ipsy subscription. Late, as always, I’m posting this but I wanted to allow myself some time to actually use the products and give a good review.

Bag

20170701_225154

According to Ipsy, the bag design is “a not-so-subtle reminder to always speak your mind”. The bottom/zipper/sides are black, the body is a light-canvas tan with white polka dots, and the lips are various shades of coral-red with a black outline. The zipper is a little cloud-like shape with “ipsy” printed on it. I like the design, but it is on the smaller side. It would be a good bag to put in your purse or car, or just for a day trip.

Products

20170629_114214

Kokie Cosmetics Nail Polish

Claims: Fashion-forward colors; salon-quality polish lasts longer than ever; bright colors stand out from the crowd; anti-chip formula protects from damage (Walmart website)
Color:
Gone Rio (neon coral pink) – It’s so perfect for summer and looks really good with a tan. There are 107 more shades to choose from.
Packaging: The little elephants are so cute and the uniqueness of the bottle stands out among the rest of my nail polish collection.
Formula: It’s mostly opaque, although some nails were a little streaky. It was nothing that couldn’t be fixed with a second coat.
Brush: With a somewhat odd shape, it took a little getting used to but nothing that would turn me away from the product. It was almost like a small rounded makeup brush, not like your typical nail brush that’s flat on both ends. It allowed for most of your nail to be covered in 1-2 swipes.
Wear: I tested this with the Sally Hansen Ultimate Shield Base & Top Coat, which is what I use with every other nail polish I wear. My nails are still recovering from my acrylics from prom, so they’re a bit flaky and dry. Taking that into account, this nail polish has held up incredibly well. When I paint my nails, they normally look good for about 3-5 days before they chip, depending on how much I use my hands. This nail polish was no exception, however, it withstood an entire day at an amusement/water park, then two consecutive days of my job making food and working a cash register.
Would I Buy Again? Yes!
Where to Buy: KokieCosmetics.com // Walmart


20170629_114150.jpg

Luna by Luna Eyeshadow

Color: Luna (light golden pink with a subtle shimmer) – This shade is light on me (medium skin tone), but I was able to see it after I built it up. It’s very pretty, but there are very similar ones out there. There are 2 more colors available. 
Packaging: The compact is pretty royal blue but the plastic feels very cheap, like those silly little plastic toys you could get out of machines at the grocery store. It also floats (I dropped it in my sink but it just bobbed, totally okay).
Formula: There was a lot of product that was kicked up by my brush, but it just about coated it in one swipe. It’s very buttery and blendable.
Wear: It lasted 10 hours, with mostly full pigment. I love the little bit of shimmer in an otherwise matte finish.
Would I Buy Again? Most likely not. There are too many similar shades in my collection already.
Where to Buy: Luna-by-Luna.com


20170629_114202

NYX Cosmetics Whipped Lip & Cheek Soufflé

Claims: Our two-in-one mousse can be used to precisely line lips and on the apples of your cheeks for a soft, natural flush. Achieve a delicious wash of color with a matte finish using this creamy and multipurpose formula. (NYX Website)
Color:
Cocoa Bean (nude brown) – At first look, it seems like a chocolate brown, but on the lips it’s actually more pink than brown. How that works, I have no idea, but it was weird. This shade is almost the exact color of my lips, just a tad darker. This did not blend out on my cheeks where I could actually see, it just kind of disappeared. There are 7 more colors in the collection.
Packaging: It’s very simple with classic black and very light.
Smell: Vanilla – I want to eat it, but I restrained myself. It’s not overpowering, either.
Wand: A large doe foot, but with a hole in the middle. Frankly, it confused me but it got the job done.
Formula: While silky and smooth like their Lip Lingeries, it never dries down and goes matte like it says. It just stays at this awkward wet-matte stage in between.
Wear: It came off in a matter of an hour.
Would I Buy Again? Sadly, no.
Where to Buy: NYXCosmetics.com // Ulta


theBalm Balm Springs Blush

Claims: Drive your beauty routine into full swing with Balm Springs® – a new long-wearing blush from theBalm® Cosmetics. This earthy rose shade compliments all skin tones. The talc-free, fade-resistant formula is perfect for hot days and even hotter nights… (theBalm Website) 
Color: In Full Swing (earthy rose) – This is a classic rosy-pink shade perfect for every collection. 
Packaging: This is a mini sample, so the real product’s packaging might be different. This is cardboard with a graphic of a woman on a beach. 
Formula: It’s very smooth and blends out nicely.
Wear: It lasted for about 3 hours before I couldn’t see it anymore.
Would I Buy Again? No, there are better long-lasting blushes.
Where to Buy: theBalm.com


20170701_225226

BioRepublic Green Tea Detox Purifying Sheet Mask // Aloe Rescue Revitalizing Sheet Mask

Review: I only used the aloe mask after getting a bad sunburn and it sure felt refreshing/cooling. My face wasn’t nearly as red as it was before. When I use the other one, I will give you an update.
Would I Buy Again? Sure!
Where to Buy: BioRepublic.com


Swatches

20170701_225058

From left to right:

theBalm Palm Springs Blush
Luna by Luna Eyeshadow
NYX Cosmetics Whipped Eye & Cheek Soufflé
Kokie Cosmetics Nail Polish


Money Value

Includes…

  • FULL SIZE Kokie Cosmetics Nail Polish
    • FULL SIZE Market Price: $6.00 USD for 0.54 fl. oz. / 15 mL
  • FULL SIZE Luna by Luna Eyeshadow
    • FULL SIZE Market Price: $15.00 USD for 0.05 oz / 1.5 g
  • FULL SIZE NYX Cosmetics Whipped Lip & Cheek Soufflé
    • FULL SIZE Market Price: $6.00 USD for 0.27 fl. oz. / 8 mL
  • SAMPLE SIZE theBalm Palm Springs Blush (0.028 oz / 0.8 g)
    • FULL SIZE Market Price: $21.00 USD for 0.197 oz / 5.61g
    • Approx. $2.98 USD worth of product
  • BioRepublic Sheet Masks
    • Market Price: $4.99 USD per mask

Value: $39.96 USD
Ipsy Subscription: $10.00 USD
Saved: $29.96 USD


Also, enjoy these obnoxiously big pictures of my obnoxious cat trying to obnoxiously mess up my flatlay.

20170629_114104
INCOMING!!!!!
20170629_114103
You’re taking pictures? Without me???!!!
20170629_114059
Lol u thought
20170629_114131
Ah, yes. Right here, on top of the bag, eyeshadow, and blush, is perfect.
20170629_120012
#AndZeroFucksWereGiven

Side note: how is she more photogenic than me???

Okay, I’ll shut up now. Until next time!

xx, Hannah

 

 

15 thoughts on “June Ipsy Glam Bag Review

  1. Aww I’m sorry the nyx and theBalm products didn’t work out for you. I got that same shade of the whipped lip and cheek souffle and it worked out well for me and the color did last on both my lips and cheeks. Granted it did fade when I ate (but that’s just about any lip shade).
    I got a different shade of theBalm blush and that one lasted all day on me.
    Idk if you use setting sprays or not but that helps make up last a little longer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, for the NYX one I wonder if I got a weird sample. I tried using a primer/no primer and it wouldn’t stay. It wouldn’t blend on my cheeks at all, with my fingers it with a brush, and it would disappear after a few minutes. It was odd. I wanted to like both of the products so badly but they didn’t seem to hold up. I’m glad they worked for you, though! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

