30 Day Movie Challenge – Day Ten

A FAVORITE DIRECTOR

I don’t really follow directors, but when a movie is done by these two, it just has to be good.

Image result

Steven Spielberg

He’s directed so many great movies that I love like Jurassic Park, Jaws, War Horse, E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial, Catch Me If You Can, and the Indiana Jones series. But I first heard of him through Band of Brothers as an executive producer alongside Tom Hanks. He’s produced more movies than directed them, and you’ve probably seen or at least heard of most of them. Check out his filmography here.

Image result for quentin tarantino

Quentin Tarantino

I knew his name growing up because my parents love him (even before I even saw his movies). He’s a writer/director/actor/producer. He wrote and directed Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs, Kill Bill Vol. 1, Kill Bill Vol. 2, Django Unchained, and The Hateful Eight. While he has an affliction for blood and gore, he can write some of the best scenes of dialogue EVER. His movies make you think, like Pulp Fiction which is shown out of chronological order. But the diner scene and the one in the car in the beginning? How do you come up with dialogue like that and then get it to portray in a non-awkward way? Also, dark humor is difficult to do well in movies and he just nails it.

Have you heard of these directors?
Have you seen their movies?

Also, Angela is doing this challenge as well!

xx, Hannah

13 thoughts on “30 Day Movie Challenge – Day Ten

    1. Band of Brothers is SO good. I’ve seen the episodes so many times and they are still amazing each time. Spielberg is certainly amazing.
      Kill Bill is a great series! I love Uma Thurman as well.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do like war movies, which sounds like a weird thing to say but they were always my favorite subjects in history class (WWII especially). Good Morning Vietnam is another war favorite of mine.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I know what you mean. Reading, ah, it unleashes the power of your imagination and makes it more powerful somehow. I have been picking up a lot of memoirs of soldiers from WWII and a stray one or two from WWI and they were fascinating. To think that these men could find the time and energy to record their experiences is something else. Have you watched The Wipers Times? It is based on a true story.

        I have not watched Good Morning Vietnam yet. I shall put it into my list, Hannah. Thanks! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. My dad read one of the guy’s memoir from Band of Brothers and said it was really good. I don’t remember the name of it though. I haven’t seen The Wipers Times, but will certainly add it to my list as well!
        And yay! Robin Williams stars in it so has some hilarious parts in it.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. That man was precious. The day he died we lost such a wonderful actor. I will now look forward to watching it.

        I will also find the memoir if it is available in the libraries here. The Wipers Times made me cry and laugh out at the same time. Let me know if you like it at all.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I know! I don’t think I was ever so sad about an actor’s death before his. He was brilliant and brought so many smiles to people’s faces.
        I will certainly update you after watching!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

